Kung Alfreds time management

Nu när jag precis påbörjat min doktorandtjänst så har jag funderat en del på hur jag ska lägga upp mina rutiner och arbetsvanor. I och med att arbetet är så fritt men samtidigt rymmer många uppgifter och moment av olika slag, så tror jag att det är viktigt att jag noggrant loggför mitt arbete för att se vad jag egentligen lägger tid på. När jag tänkte i dessa banor kom jag att tänka på ett stycke ur Humes History of England. Hume beskriver där Alfred den store, anglo-saxisk kung under 800-talet, och hur denne fördelade och höll koll på sin arbetstid. 

But the most effectual expedient, employed by Alfred, for the encouragement of learning, was his own example, and the constant assiduity, with which, notwithstanding the multiplicity and urgency of his affairs, he employed himself in the pursuits of knowledge. He usually divided his time into three equal portions: One was employed in sleep, and the refection of his body by diet and exercise; another in the dispatch of business; a third in study and devotion: And that he might more exactly measure the hours, he made use of burning tapers [sv. vaxljus] of equal length, which he fixed in lanthorns; an expedient suited to that rude age, when the geometry of dialling and the mechanism of clocks and watches were totally unknown. And by such a regular distribution of his time, though he often laboured under great bodily infirmities, this martial hero, who fought in person fifty-six battles by sea and land, was able, during a life of no extraordinary length, to acquire more knowledge, and even to compose more books, than most studious men, though blest with the greatest leisure and application, have, in more fortunate ages, made the object of their uninterrupted industry.

Den där avslutande kängan från Hume påbjuder för övrigt ödmjukhet: jag har nu onekligen fått exceptionellt goda förutsättningar för att skriva en liten bok…

Hume, David. (1983) The History of England. Volume I. (Indianapolis: Liberty Fund), s. 80.

Kommentera

